ABOUT ME

My name is Careena. I am an avid outdoorswoman and outdoors youtuber based in Ontario, Canada.

 

I have set out on a mission to encourage everyone, especially women and young persons to get out there and learn and practice the skills necessary to make themselves comfortable in the great outdoors. I created my YouTube channel with the intent of creating adventure stories to inspire others to get outdoors and also for those who cannot get out themselves, whether stifled by illness or physical limitations, so they can experience the adventures from the comfort of their home through my videos.

My partner Brandon and I have another YouTube Channel together called TimberMates! Brandon is an arborist who owns/operates the local tree business where we live so we feature much of that on our channel. Tree removals, lumber milling, woodworking,  welding, day-in-the-life vlogs, and many other cool projects we dabble in end up on the TimberMates YouTube channel, so make sure you check that out if that sounds like something you'd enjoy, we are always up to something interesting. 

MORE ABOUT MYSELF

My love for the outdoors and for nature started at a very young age and continued as I got older. I was always outside, always picking up frogs, bugs and snakes, playing in the dirt and building forts. As I got older I was driving snowmobiles and four wheelers, learning responsible fire-making and how to use tools like knives, axes, chainsaws, etc. I've always had a strong drive to wander and explore. I also remember always wondering how things started; how those in the old days would live without electricity and grocery stores. How did they make their tools, learn the land, thrive without all the modern amenities we take for granted? This is getting broad, but you get the point. I have a drive to figure things out, and being outdoors, challenging myself to push on no matter what nature throws my way, nurtures that drive. 

From backcountry canoe camping trips to hiking and spending time in the woods practicing the skills of Bushcraft, I live and breathe the outdoors life. It impacts the decisions I make, including how I nourish my body, how I spend my time, how I spend my money, and how I stay healthy-active. I eat well so that I can nourish my body for the trips and outdoor activities. I spend my spare time learning about trees and plants, wildlife, how to make things with my own two hands and lots of outdoors skills, and then implementing the things I learn when I can get out on trips and adventures. I try hard to live simply by spending my money only on things that add value to my life, not throwing it away on materialistic things that do nothing but add stress and unwanted maintenance. 

WORK HISTORY

I've always worked in hands-on type jobs and I've always had a strong drive and great work ethic which I mainly attribute to the values my parents instilled in me at a young age and also growing up working on the farm. As a very young girl I did anything I could to be around horses which led me to doing work around a local horse farm in my hometown just so I could ride and play with the horses. With that as a good start to my working life, I went on to work in many active, hands-on jobs. These included general construction, milking cows, labouring in stone-masonry, and sign-making/installation. These days outdoors content creation and YouTube are my main sources of income.

HOBBIES

HORSES: I have some other hobbies that connect me to the outdoors. The first and foremost being horses. I have a long history with horses. I've been riding since I was a kid and have grown up appreciating the hard work it takes to care for the animals, the farm, mucking out stalls and then reaping the benefits by enjoying time in the saddle (or bareback in my case... always hated saddles). When I was 23 I started my own horse training business; Careena Alexis Horse Training, ran it for 2 years and then decided I needed something a little bit more sustainable for financial reasons. I'll always have a passion for horses, but my passion for the outdoors is just a little bit stronger these days. 

SPORTS: I've always been athletic, playing all sports. My two favourites were soccer and hockey (I am canadian after all). I played them both competitively throughout my school years until I tore my ACL at 16 and needed reconstructive surgery. When I could no longer play sports like I used to, I reverted back to spending my time with horses, and in the outdoors. 

OTHERS: Playing guitar (I make a lot of my own music for my youtube videos), snowboarding, four wheeling, snowmobiling, ice fishing, building and making things, etc... 

6B4E9E1F-9688-48DB-808E-FDE092338421.JPG
47ADC7B6-2404-4C55-B537-9DF01E529EBC.JPG